So Much To Look Forward To, Right?

July 3, 2010

So as I mentioned in the “About This Blog?” page, my oldest son D is about to enter adolescence. Oh. My. God. Right?

As D enters this stage of his life, he may face anything from acne and braces to bullying and peer pressure. Not to mention getting his driver’s license, having his first date, getting his first job and applying to post-secondary institutions. So I know that this transition will bring with it many new challenges, as well as exciting opportunities for my child. It also brings a great deal of responsibility with it. Where once I worried about D’s ability to cross the road by himself, now I will be worried about his ability to refuse drugs and alcohol. Where once I reminded him to share his favorite toy with the neighbors’ kids, now I will have to remind him how a gentleman acts on a date.

This transition won’t only affect D. It’ll have an impact on everyone else in our family of 4 because through good and bad, we’re all in this together.

If you’re the parent of a preteen, you’re probably hyperventilating with me as we speak. If you’re the parent of a preteen with ADD, you may have collapsed on the floor at the thought of what awaits you in the next few years. Well pick yourself up and dust yourself off because quite frankly I am going to need all the help I can get and this is no time to give up!

Our kids are going to be bombarded with less-than-reputable information, from less-than-reputable sources. They’ll need us to step up and get involved in their lives, in a way that supports them and encourages them to make good decisions. They’ll also need us to step back and let them try new things, meet new people and make mistakes.

As a parent, I want only the best for my son and I do everything I can to support and nurture his independence and strengths so that he can achieve his goals and be successful once he goes off on his own. This stage is tough for almost everyone. Though we survived, few of us could say the experience was so great that we would willingly return.

On top of the challenges an average teen faces, a young person with ADD may be overwhelmed with all the possibilities, choices, pressure and responsibility. Many common complaints with ADD, such as a lack of attention or impulse control, take on a whole new meaning as our children enter adolescence.

So much to look forward to, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

