Tip Tuesday – A New Feature

July 6, 2010

The most popular question I get asked is…

“What tips would you share with a parent or young person who has just begun to understand their ADD/ADHD?”

Now, let me reiterate something I have said on here before. (At least I think I have. If I haven’t said it yet, I should have. Consider this your disclaimer. :P)

I DO NOT have all the answers. If I did, I wouldn’t be blogging our experience (good and bad) for all of you to read and judge. I’d be quietly enjoying the smugness that comes from having all the answers.

I have however, tried A LOT of different strategies, techniques and approaches over the years. Some have worked and some have not. From these experiences have come some wonderful lessons. I’ve found over the years, that when a parent or young person asks me for some helpful tips, what they really want are ideas and support from someone who has been there. This I can do.

And so, voila! Tip Tuesday is born! Each week, I will post a new suggestion or tip for your consideration. It might be something I have found helpful or something that went terribly wrong and that I can help you steer clear of. 🙂

Please remember, ADD/ADHD is different for each person because each individual has different traits and gifts to explore and nurture. These tips are intended as a way to move past the challenges that ADD/ADHD can present, to help you find solutions so that your strengths are what people remember about you the most.

Check in next week for my very first ‘Tip Tuesday’! 🙂

Leave a Reply

