Successful Spoof?

July 15, 2010

This will be a short post because I am exhausted.

I am exhausted at the end of every day, but rarely for the right reasons. By 6 pm, I am usually at the end of my rope and feel like I have repeated the same 10 sentences over and over again all day.

  • “D, please stop running in the apartment.”
  • “D, please bring your key with you so you don’t have to ring the doorbell every few minutes.”
  • “D, the answer was no.”
  • “D, I don’t care what your friends are allowed to do.”
  • D, the answer is STILL no.”
  • ….etc.

Today was different. Today I am the ‘good kind’ of exhausted. The kind that comes from too much FUN, too much LAUGHING and too much SUN. 🙂 Yes, you read that right.

“So, what was different?”, you might be wondering. I wish I knew for sure.

It was D’s first day on the lower dose of Biphentin, so I’d like to believe that the medication had something to do with it. That may sound odd to some of you. However, from my perspective, if it’s the medication that made the difference today then it stands to reason that we can recreate the same conditions tomorrow and live the same experience, right?

D was calmer, happier, more helpful and more focused today. It was the best day we’ve had together in months…maybe all year even. Could it be that the medication was working? Sure. Could it be nothing more than a successful spoof? Sure.

I guess we won’t know for sure right away. We’ll have to give it a few days before we can start to attribute his improved concentration and patience to the medication.

Until then, we must keep both feet planted firmly on the ground and not get our hopes up.

Seriously, who am I kidding with that comment?! I am praying that it was the medication because if it isn’t, I have absolutely NO IDEA what we did differently or how we can do it again.

Leave a Reply

