Bursting His Balloon

July 17, 2010

Today, we’ve been invited to attend Baby V’s birthday party. Baby V is our friend’s daughter and she is going to make for one adorable birthday girl no doubt.  The little beauty is turning one and her party will be held a local park just a few minutes down the street, if the weather cooperates.

Baby Q and I will be attending for sure. My dilemma is trying to decide whether to bring D or not.

Would I love to bring him? Yes. Would he enjoy exploring a new park? Absolutely. So far so good, right?

Hold on though, I have more questions still to ponder. Will he potentially be bored? Yes. Will he aspire to have all my attention, even though it will be directed at the birthday girl, the other party goers and our own little Baby Q? Yes. Will he want to explore more of the park, and for a longer period of time, than what I can support? Yes.

And then the most important question of all….

Will he potentially be disappointed? Yes.

Sigh. I often feel in these situations that my choices are…

#1 – Burst his bubble now and get him a sitter. (This way he doesn’t know what he’s missing really and he is not put in a situation he can’t handle.)

or

#2 – Burst his bubble later, during the party, when I have to explain for the 15th time that he isn’t allowed to go down to the water alone or that he can’t eat any of the usual party treats – hot dogs, candies and delicious birthday cake.

Hmmm…what to do? I’m going to think on it a little more.

Leave a Reply

