Comments I Could Live Without – #3

August 24, 2010

“D is such a great kid. I’m not sure I believe he has ADHD.”

When I first heard the comment, I was pleased. If people don’t see D’s ADHD symptoms, then that means we’re doing a great job of controlling it. Right?

Unfortunately though, this comment simply opened the door for more. Suddenly, someone who was fairly new to the situation had all these views and opinions to share, but no real knowledge of the condition. I felt that they were calling into question my experiences, my parenting, my discipline techniques and my choice to try medications with D. These comments quickly became a source of stress for me.

Frustrating? Yes, but not worth losing my cool over. It only illustrated the lack of understanding that still exists out there and reminded me of the work that needs to be done to educate those around our children.

And to be clear…great kids have ADHD too. Mine is one of them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

