After Diagnosis – Where To Start

October 11, 2010

I still remember exactly how I felt, nearly 9 years ago, sitting in the psychologist’s office after she told me that my son had ADHD. I was afraid and relieved, all at the same time. I finally had a name and a diagnosis that made sense and that I could sink my teeth into, but I was terrified of what was to come. I needed more information and answers to my questions. I needed a place to start and resources that were supportive and encouraging to read. I needed someone who had been through it all and would understand.

I didn’t really have anyone like that then and I know there are still many people out there who are dealing with this diagnosis alone. It can be overwhelming at the best of times and you’re going to need a strong support system in place to help you be at your best as a parent, so that the sweet little person who tugs at your heartstrings everyday gets the support and love they need to thrive.

Though my family didn’t understand D’s diagnosis (and still may not quite frankly), I was able to find the information and answers I needed, from someone who understood. Instead of sitting down over to coffee to talk about things though, I curled up in bed every night and found the answers I needed to get started, within the pages of some great books.

The books I curled up with in those early days are the same books I refer back to whenever I need to shift my thinking or reflect on what’s working and what isn’t. Driven to Distraction and Delivered from Distraction were my ‘bibles’ 9 years ago and they remain the top books I recommend to others learning to manage ADHD in their family. I used to lend them out, but they were SO good, I rarely ever got them back. 😛 In the last few years, we have also purchased Superparenting for ADD, which we love!

(Editor’s Note: There are many other authors and resources I have since discovered and LOVE! I’ll be sharing some of my favorites over the next few months, so stay tuned.)

The link below will take you to Dr. Hallowell’s website, to a favorite section of mine, where you can find a message to parents who are looking for a place to start their search for information and empowerment. Dr. Hallowell’s website has a variety of resources to help you or someone you love with ADHD. His website (like his books) is exceptional – supportive and uplifting, with strategies and techniques to improve your whole family’s experience with ADHD.

Help! I Just Found Out My Child Has ADHD!

Good luck with your next steps! 🙂 Remember you are not alone.

Leave a Reply

